15m liquid force envy
17m slingshot turbine
136 liquid force drive
Liquid force foil fish
155 litewave Carbon
Brand Affiliation: None

I'm new to landboarding

Postby NewGuy » Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:23 pm

I'm new to landboarding I already have a board but no foil kite yet. I'm looking into buying a flysurfer 12m but will this be to big or to small for me? I'm a touch over 200lbs also what kinda wind range will I get out of the 12m.

Thanks

windrider1
Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2003
Gear: FLYSURFER, HQ KITES, OZONE KITES

Re: I'm new to landboarding

Postby windrider1 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 1:50 am

In landboarding the general rule is your kite will be 3 or 4 sizes smaller than what ure using to kitesurf on a given day. Say for example everyone on the water is on 12m kites u will be flying a 8m kite and be well powered on that size on hard beach sand., on asphalt its a little less power needed and on grass a little more power. A 12m in landboarding will be your medium to low wind kite max size I use is a 14 M open cell foil kite, which would be equivalent to a 17m LEI. According to flysurfer the 12m speed will give u a windrange of 9 to 21 knts. I would say get the 9m as a first kite as the 12m will be to big. Usually most landboardrers start with an 8 or 9m foil kite. You will get more use out of that size.
You don't need a lot of power to move on land. I think most kitesurfers don't get that concept they always ask so wht happens when u fall. nothing happens. u go as fast or as slow as u want and u can jump of the board if necessary. the power dynamics is not the same in landboarding and its a much more of a relaxed kite sport.

NewGuy wrote:I'm new to landboarding I already have a board but no foil kite yet. I'm looking into buying a flysurfer 12m but will this be to big or to small for me? I'm a touch over 200lbs also what kinda wind range will I get out of the 12m.

Thanks

NewGuy
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Local Beach: Gun lake state park
Style: Free ride