Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

2012 Griffin Argo Review *pics*

Find reviews of kites, boards and accessories
KitaHara
Rare Poster
Local Beach: Kailua, Oahu
Favorite Beaches: Kailua HI, Mokule'ea HI, Kingscliff NSW Australia, Fingal NSW Australia, Gold Coast QLD Australia,
Style: Waves
Gear: Cabrinha, Brothers Hansen, Scarfini, Dakine.
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

2012 Griffin Argo Review *pics*

Postby KitaHara » Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:12 am

Heyy everyone.

I got my new 2012 Griffin 11.5m a few days ago, and wanted to give you my first impressions.. I've only had light wind since I got it, so I only had a couple of average sessions on it, but so far it's incredible.

I've been kitesurfing and teaching since 2004. My first kite ever was a Cabrinha Blacktip C kite. I tried a few others back then, (Naish Torch, Takoon, etc) which all seemed about the same to me. When Cabrinha released their first bow kite, I was hooked! (pun intended).. I got a 2005 12m Cabrinha Crossbow, then the 2006. In 2006 I also tried their Switchblade, and hated it. I went back to Crossbow, until 2007 when I got a Cabrinha Contra. They just seemed to be getting better and better. I tried other kites, brands, models etc. throughout the next few years, but always ended up with a Cabrinha Xbow 12m.

I was first told about Griffin Kites by a very good friend in Australia but I was pretty skeptical, having always found other kite brands to never measure up to my Xbows. He told me that these Griffin kites pull like trains, but feel very small and are safe and controllable. At the time I was riding a 2010 Xbow 11m, and decided to give Griffin a shot, since my buddy was never one to exaggerate.
I was curious to see if it was all he said it was.