slayerofsouls
Rare Poster
Gear: Cabrina 12m
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

January Travel Advice Required

Postby slayerofsouls » Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:55 pm

Background: January 1-13 is the only time I can take off in June due to my career, and I want to make the most of it. I am an beginner/intermediate kite boarder living in Toronto. In this trip I plan to take 2 hours of lessons/day and practice the rest. I need to get my toeside riding, carving turns and jumps solid. Might be a hard objective but lets see. I will be bringing my 12m kite and 160 board and a shit load of cameras.

Budget Was looking to spend 600 (flight) + 1,000 (accommodation) + 400 (food and travel) so approximately 2,000 plus the cost of lessons. Price isnt the limiting factor, I rather spend a bit more and go to place for consistent wind. Im going on my own so other then kiting I may go scuba diving but the focus is really all about kiting. Obviously I dont want to take a $3,000 flight trip to Cape Town. So it has to be within reason. I went to cabarete last dec and spend about 2-3 days twiddling my thumbs waiting for the wind, ever since then scared shitless about travelling for wind.

Destination:
[*]Aruba:
Pro: Consistent wind in January. Two points to practice flat water at Fishermans Hut (Offshore wind) and Boca Grande. Easy to get around, may require a car rental if I kite at Boca Grande since Fishermans hut isnt optimal to kite in . Cool sounding dives - plane wreck etc

Con: Not the cheapest of trips, no kiting directly opposite my location other than fishermans hut which is probably going to be filled with new riders. Risk of offshore wind. Very touristy and a party place. Not really my thing.

[*]Playa Del Carmen: Mexico
Pro: Kiteboarding just footsteps away. have the option to explore other kite spots like isla blanca, tulum. Whaleshark diving etc

Cons: Not aruba wind

Other options?
Cuba - Varadero - Not sure about wind consistency