All times are UTC + 1 hour

[ 1 post ] 
 Post subject: Kitesurf in Adicora
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:39 pm 
Rare Poster

This is my 1st post and im still a beginner kitesurfer, so bear with me, i'll try to be as concise as i can.

My opinion my be biased for my lack of experience, so just for u to know I had my first classes in Jericoacoara, then a week in Costa Rica with Nicola from Blue Dream Resort (great place btw) and I went this time to Adicora, Venezuela and Los Roques for a couple of days.

Since i had some trouble to get some info about venezuela and this forum had been so helpful, i'll write down a couple of things to fill some gaps about this great spot.

Adicora is in Venezuela, closest airport is the Punto Fijo's airport Las Piedras, which is about an hour away from the spot in a cab. And from Caracas, it's a 40 minutes flight costing ~1200 bolivares roundtrip.

It's windy all year, except for november-mid december, it's in a desertic area, so there's not much rainfall. around 17-30 knots, hot weather (~30 degrees celsius), water is hot, but the long sleeved lycra is recommended (because of the sun).

The beach has lots of space for landing, etc and because of the garbage (mostly brought by the currents, but a lot of beer caps and other crap they throw on the beach), but nothing unbearable, and plenty of clean space to leave your kite.
The spot is big, large shallow (belly deep) area, flat and waves, and there is also another flat spot about 20-30 minutes away with a cab (~400 bolivares for the cab) called Mata Gorda.

There are a couple of kiting schools, but I had classes and was helped by Marthy Landry, a Canadian guy that lives in Adicora for more than a year now and provides a great service both in the logistics (a safe one) to get there from Caracas, teaching, and the support/help during your stay in Adicora with anything.