alicia
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 0
Gear: x
Brand Affiliation: None

Where to travel as beginner in feb?

Postby alicia » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:22 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a complete beginner, been out on the water three times now and have not even tried to go upwind etc. But I've already fallen in love and feel super determined to actually start learning this!

From the end of January till beginning of March I have time off from my studies, so I want to use this time to go to 1/2 spot(s) and just kitesurf a lot and really learn it. First I was thinking either Colombia or the Philippines, but I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed by all the information on the internet. I'd prefer to go somewhere a bit more quiet, but as a beginner I guess it would be nice to have at least one good and reliable school around to still do some classes/have someone to help me? (Also, as i'm still a student I'd rather go somewhere a bit cheaper.)

Really happy to hear any recommendations about which spots (anywhere in the world) to go to with very little experience!
And all other advice for travelling alone as a beginner is much appreciated :D

rynhardt
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Leeupan
Favorite Beaches: Langebaan
Style: Freeride
Gear: GK vSonic 6 & 11
Cloud C2 17
Progeni Mutare
Xelerator door
Hoff DD140

Re: Where to travel as beginner in feb?

Postby rynhardt » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:49 am

Langebaan (Cape Town) should be on your short list.

Chris30
Rare Poster
Kiting since: 2002
Favorite Beaches: Bali - Sanur
Thailand - Hua Hin
Style: Freeride / Oldschool
Gear: Boards: 2x Spleene: Session 45 (145x46 cm) & Rip 39 (139x42,5 cm)
Flysurfer Speed 4 18m & 10m

Postby Chris30 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:50 pm

Maybe also Hua Hin, Thailand should be worth a closer look...
Nice weather (Hot), usually steady and reliable wind, accomodations everything from cheap hostels to 5+ star Hotels.