*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:00 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:51 am
Posts: 25
I had Core ESP bar that was adjustable and it worked really good for both my GT 15m and GT 9m. Only problem was that I would usually forget to switch the bar from the outside setting to the inside setting since 80% of my riding was on the 15m. The result? I had a blast on the longer bar setting with the 9m and never realized what I had done until I came in and rolled the bar up.

This experience led me to buy my next kite, 13m, with 55cm non-adjustable bar to use for both the 13m and the GT 9m that I kept. The result? Works great! Jumps and loops so easy yet still is very stable with hands in center of bar. Kite has adjustment to turn slower but haven't even tried this yet.

Is anyone else just using one bar for everything? Sure helps when new bars cost up to $500 now.


{ SHARE_ON_FACEBOOK } { SHARE_ON_TWITTER } { SHARE_ON_ORKUT } { SHARE_ON_DIGG } { SHARE_ON_MYSPACE } { SHARE_ON_DELICIOUS }
Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:10 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:28 pm
Posts: 1390
Use Naish bar on wide setting for all my Torches 12, 10, 8 and 6. I like the small kites on wider bars, like quick kites :thumb:


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 28973
Location: World (KF Admin)
I have bar, for all my kites. But they are all big, so works fine.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:43 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:49 am
Posts: 374
i use just one bar for my 10 and 7 as it is a custom bar, all cobbled together from the best of other bars so it fits me and seems to work great on both kites
the 5 has it's own smaller bar for the crazy days


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:46 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 5:09 pm
Posts: 1216
Location: israel
One bar makes it more difficult selling second hand kites.
That's why i always but Kite+bar.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:02 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 175
I use a single 50cm bar on my 7m, 9m , and 13m.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:08 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:59 pm
Posts: 54
+1 for using only one bar. And that is easier when it's a customized bar, all the more when it comes with 4 width settings (I only use the two largest though) and plenty of knots on front and rear lines. Had one session last week with the standard (small) bar while mine was in the middle of some deep modifications, that was awful !


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 pm 
Offline
Rare Poster

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:49 pm
Posts: 44
I have never figured out if the front and back lines are all same length on different makes of kites. This has stopped me from trying my cabrhina bar on my ozone kites. I guess I could unwind them and measure but I am lazy and hope someone on the forum can tell me. It would be nice to know if switching bars on different makes of kites would work when something fails and you need a spare.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:01 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:45 pm
Posts: 1387
Location: The Gorge
I only use one bar with my mutiny kites, works well when you can adjust it


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: Anyone else using just one bar?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 2:12 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am
Posts: 2247
Location: Ford Lake, Michigan
pecmajor wrote:
I have never figured out if the front and back lines are all same length on different makes of kites. This has stopped me from trying my cabrhina bar on my ozone kites. I guess I could unwind them and measure but I am lazy and hope someone on the forum can tell me. It would be nice to know if switching bars on different makes of kites would work when something fails and you need a spare.



all modern kites use equal lengths. Older kites did have unequal line lengths but that has been discontinued on almost every model.

Cabrinha, and other mini-5th line kites pinch the kite if you use them on a single center line flag out kite like Ozone, also the safety works differently. A mini-5th depends on the bridle depowering the kite, while a single center line flag out like ozone actually flags out the kite to one line.

As of 2012, I think you should be able to swap all these bars

mini-5th line cabrinha, best, north, airush, epic, switch, gk, core

or . . . swap any of these brands with single center line flag out ozone, slingshot, liquid force, wainman, blade, naish

You can try swapping bars cabrinha and ozone to see what I'm talking about. I think the cabrinha will fly better on the ozone bar than the ozone will on the cab bar.

I have a bunch of bars with different line lengths for different conditions quicker than changing lines and extensions.


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], flaps1111, jespin4845 and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group