Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

forum for kitesurfers


User avatar
stringy
Medium Poster
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2004
Local Beach: seattle, wa
Style: freeriding
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: seattle, wa
Contact:

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby stringy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:20 am

Kamikuza wrote:
Chickenwing504 wrote:Stringy, I congratulate you on being a photo-something-or-another genius. I saw that the line mount 2.0 is "exactly weight counterbalanced", does that mean it sinks with the float now? I've lost my camera, mount, and float before and was able to find it in the surf shortly after. I would like to know if this is still an option.

No, I think it means that the weight of the camera is centered between the lines, rather than dangling below it like the first version.

Yes! this is correct. the only weight added is the actual line mount itself. the way the camera's weight is balanced makes it more stable. the newest mount holds the camera totally different than the previous mount. I've tested the new line mount with a gopro and float and it seems to maintain its bouyancy. it should work even better with the all new hero3 because the camera is even lighter than the previous models.
speaking of hero3, I've been testing the new camera with a new design line mount and it seems to film very stable. sorry to those that have had less than stellar results, I know it can be frustrating.
this video has had minor editing however there is no stabilization added to the footage. was riding a 14m park with the airush wakeskate

User avatar
Flight Time
Frequent Poster
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:08 pm
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Venice Beach
Skyway Bridge North
Style: Freeride
Gear: 12 Epic Screamer
14 Epic Screamer
12 Liquid Force Havoc
16 Cabrinha Switchblade
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Venice, Florida

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby Flight Time » Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:34 am

Nice vid, but damn does it look cold. Got to be downright miserable. I can't bring myself to kite at all if I need a friggin hood. :D

User avatar
Marty
Frequent Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 3:38 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Utah

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby Marty » Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:31 pm

I use the line mount for my Contour Roam.
How do you keep it from creeping down the lines and getting to close?

User avatar
stringy
Medium Poster
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2004
Local Beach: seattle, wa
Style: freeriding
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: seattle, wa
Contact:

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby stringy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:54 pm

Marty wrote:I use the line mount for my Contour Roam.
How do you keep it from creeping down the lines and getting to close?


I used the soft rubber mount plugs to keep it from sliding. I tend to "push" the camera a little bit away from me for filming to give it a better perspective, however the line mount wants to bring it back down to its more natural position. in order to maintain its position, I use the Camrig mount plug.
These plugs achieve 3 things.
they tether your line mount so in the event the lines lose tension they will remain in position.
they prevent steering line from snagging in the event of extreme line slack.
they allow the camera to be positioned farther away for a different perspective.
and yes if you are using front line flagging they will still allow your kite to release to one line.


http://camrig.com/line-mount/line-mount-plugs/line-mount-plugs

Image

User avatar
Marty
Frequent Poster
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 3:38 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Utah

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby Marty » Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks

User avatar
stringy
Medium Poster
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2004
Local Beach: seattle, wa
Style: freeriding
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: seattle, wa
Contact:

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby stringy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:15 am

Marty wrote:Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks


they should be receiving their shipments any day now.
last I heard the shipment was on trucks heading to Camrig's distribution centers.
just to prove that yesterday's test wasn't a fluke, I tried the hero3 with a twintip so I could make sure it works well with rotations and loops. seems to work fine.
the design is very similiar to the 2nd generation line mount, but I have changed things up a little for the better.




takes nice pictures too
Image
Last edited by stringy on Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Pippi langsamer
Medium Poster
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:26 am
Kiting since: 1
Local Beach: Big Bay
Langebaan
Dolphin Beach
Shark Bay
Brand Affiliation: Naish

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby Pippi langsamer » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:48 pm

stringy wrote:
Marty wrote:Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks


they should be receiving their shipments any day now.
last I heard the shipment was on trucks heading to Camrig's distribution centers.
just to prove that yesterday's test wasn't a fluke, I tried the hero3 with a twintip so I could make sure it works well with rotations and loops. seems to work fine.
the design is very similiar to the 2nd generation line mount, but I have changed things up a little for the better.




takes nice pictures too
Image


Will your new line mount

a) work with the original GoPro HD, and
b) be available in the UK?

User avatar
stringy
Medium Poster
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2004
Local Beach: seattle, wa
Style: freeriding
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: seattle, wa
Contact:

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby stringy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:26 pm

Pippi langsamer wrote:
Will your new line mount

a) work with the original GoPro HD, and
b) be available in the UK?


there is a great new mount that is built for the hd as well as the hero2 camera.
gopro's new hero3 has seen significant changes to the form factor so a whole new mount was designed specifically for this camera.
camrig should be selling the new line mount. check out the website under line mount tab.
or just click on this link.
http://camrig.com/line-mount/hd2-gopro-line-mount/gopro-line-mount
as for UK availability I'm unsure so that is a question for the guys over at camrig.
drop them an email at salesatcamrigdotcom.

Image

madmax7
Medium Poster
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:24 pm
Kiting since: 12
Local Beach: Belmont, Nicholas Canyon, Lake Isabella, Sherman Island
Favorite Beaches: Cabarette, Margarita, Maui
Gear: Naish Kites, North Boards
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby madmax7 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:02 pm

I ordered the new line mount and plugs

Questions. Is camera going to sit sideways ? And. How do I use plugs. Do they go on lines above and below mounts to keep from sliding?

Have not received them yet so just trying to visualize how to set up, have the older Hero model

Thanks for info, heade on trip next week. Hope to be able to set up properly, Max

User avatar
stringy
Medium Poster
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Kiting since: 2004
Local Beach: seattle, wa
Style: freeriding
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: seattle, wa
Contact:

Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking

Postby stringy » Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:21 pm

madmax7 wrote:I ordered the new line mount and plugs

Questions. Is camera going to sit sideways ? And. How do I use plugs. Do they go on lines above and below mounts to keep from sliding?

Have not received them yet so just trying to visualize how to set up, have the older Hero model

Thanks for info, heade on trip next week. Hope to be able to set up properly, Max

Hi Max,
When you receive your new mount, it will make more sense on how the line mount plugs are assembled since the mount comes with them already assembled to the mount
in the image you can see how the camera and mount are attached to the front flying lines.
the mount you will be getting has green plugs.
the ones in the image are prototype plugs and I actually run them on the backside arms in the image.
feel free to run them in the front positions as well.
that would give you the most security however I really think you only need them on the back arms.
and yes this mount allows the gopro to film at the correct orientation.

Image


Return to “Kitesurfing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Paulwoller, sabraxas, ThickAir, zob and 13 guests