*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:20 am 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
Kamikuza wrote:
Chickenwing504 wrote:
Stringy, I congratulate you on being a photo-something-or-another genius. I saw that the line mount 2.0 is "exactly weight counterbalanced", does that mean it sinks with the float now? I've lost my camera, mount, and float before and was able to find it in the surf shortly after. I would like to know if this is still an option.

No, I think it means that the weight of the camera is centered between the lines, rather than dangling below it like the first version.

Yes! this is correct. the only weight added is the actual line mount itself. the way the camera's weight is balanced makes it more stable. the newest mount holds the camera totally different than the previous mount. I've tested the new line mount with a gopro and float and it seems to maintain its bouyancy. it should work even better with the all new hero3 because the camera is even lighter than the previous models.
speaking of hero3, I've been testing the new camera with a new design line mount and it seems to film very stable. sorry to those that have had less than stellar results, I know it can be frustrating.
this video has had minor editing however there is no stabilization added to the footage. was riding a 14m park with the airush wakeskate


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:34 am 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:08 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Venice, Florida
Nice vid, but damn does it look cold. Got to be downright miserable. I can't bring myself to kite at all if I need a friggin hood. :D


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:31 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 3:38 am
Posts: 340
Location: Utah
I use the line mount for my Contour Roam.
How do you keep it from creeping down the lines and getting to close?


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:54 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
Marty wrote:
I use the line mount for my Contour Roam.
How do you keep it from creeping down the lines and getting to close?


I used the soft rubber mount plugs to keep it from sliding. I tend to "push" the camera a little bit away from me for filming to give it a better perspective, however the line mount wants to bring it back down to its more natural position. in order to maintain its position, I use the Camrig mount plug.
These plugs achieve 3 things.
they tether your line mount so in the event the lines lose tension they will remain in position.
they prevent steering line from snagging in the event of extreme line slack.
they allow the camera to be positioned farther away for a different perspective.
and yes if you are using front line flagging they will still allow your kite to release to one line.


http://camrig.com/line-mount/line-mount-plugs/line-mount-plugs

Image


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:30 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 3:38 am
Posts: 340
Location: Utah
Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:15 am 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
Marty wrote:
Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks


they should be receiving their shipments any day now.
last I heard the shipment was on trucks heading to Camrig's distribution centers.
just to prove that yesterday's test wasn't a fluke, I tried the hero3 with a twintip so I could make sure it works well with rotations and loops. seems to work fine.
the design is very similiar to the 2nd generation line mount, but I have changed things up a little for the better.




takes nice pictures too
Image


Last edited by stringy on Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:48 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:26 am
Posts: 110
stringy wrote:
Marty wrote:
Looks like I timed that just right, huh!
New item that I've been needing.
Pre order starts 12/5/12
Any idea when they will be shiping yet?

Thanks


they should be receiving their shipments any day now.
last I heard the shipment was on trucks heading to Camrig's distribution centers.
just to prove that yesterday's test wasn't a fluke, I tried the hero3 with a twintip so I could make sure it works well with rotations and loops. seems to work fine.
the design is very similiar to the 2nd generation line mount, but I have changed things up a little for the better.




takes nice pictures too
Image


Will your new line mount

a) work with the original GoPro HD, and
b) be available in the UK?


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:26 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
Pippi langsamer wrote:

Will your new line mount

a) work with the original GoPro HD, and
b) be available in the UK?


there is a great new mount that is built for the hd as well as the hero2 camera.
gopro's new hero3 has seen significant changes to the form factor so a whole new mount was designed specifically for this camera.
camrig should be selling the new line mount. check out the website under line mount tab.
or just click on this link.
http://camrig.com/line-mount/hd2-gopro-line-mount/gopro-line-mount
as for UK availability I'm unsure so that is a question for the guys over at camrig.
drop them an email at salesatcamrigdotcom.

Image


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 71
I ordered the new line mount and plugs

Questions. Is camera going to sit sideways ? And. How do I use plugs. Do they go on lines above and below mounts to keep from sliding?

Have not received them yet so just trying to visualize how to set up, have the older Hero model

Thanks for info, heade on trip next week. Hope to be able to set up properly, Max


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:21 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
madmax7 wrote:
I ordered the new line mount and plugs

Questions. Is camera going to sit sideways ? And. How do I use plugs. Do they go on lines above and below mounts to keep from sliding?

Have not received them yet so just trying to visualize how to set up, have the older Hero model

Thanks for info, heade on trip next week. Hope to be able to set up properly, Max

Hi Max,
When you receive your new mount, it will make more sense on how the line mount plugs are assembled since the mount comes with them already assembled to the mount
in the image you can see how the camera and mount are attached to the front flying lines.
the mount you will be getting has green plugs.
the ones in the image are prototype plugs and I actually run them on the backside arms in the image.
feel free to run them in the front positions as well.
that would give you the most security however I really think you only need them on the back arms.
and yes this mount allows the gopro to film at the correct orientation.

Image


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], COOP, geopeck, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, troutuna and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group