Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards


sijandy
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:36 pm
Kiting since: 2007
Style: freestyle
Gear: kites and boards
Brand Affiliation: None

Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

Postby sijandy » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:47 pm

Pump draws air from the reservoir(keg). Which in turn
draws air from the T-bar leading to the gauge and vac
switch. Once it hits a pre-determined max vacuum the vac
switch will power off the pump. When the vacuum inside
has dropped to a pre-determined min vacuum the switch
re-engages the power to the pump and starts the cycle
again.

The bit i need help with is the wiring of the switch
too the pump...basically, what wires connect to where.
In the pic of the pump wiring you can see the +/-(brown/blue)
from the mains, then 2 red wires from the on/off switch to the
motor.

Specs:

Vac switch:

10A
125/250vac

Pump:

220-240v/5hz
Attachments
vac setup.jpg
vac switch.jpg
vac pump.jpg

User avatar
SO_FL_Kiter
Medium Poster
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:16 pm
Kiting since: 2009
Local Beach: Jupiter, FL; Juno Beach, FL
Favorite Beaches: Jupiter Kitebeach, Biscayne Bay
Style: Wave/Freeride
Gear: 15M LF Envy, 12M North Rebel, 11M SS Rev2, 10M North Rhino, 9M LF Session, Airush Sector, Naish Custom Global 6'2", Liquid Force 5'7" FCD, Cabrinha Custom 136, Crazyfly Raptor 132
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: Jupiter, FL

Re: Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

Postby SO_FL_Kiter » Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:35 pm

Simpler explanation below.
Last edited by SO_FL_Kiter on Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.

eree
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:49 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: shallow sea

Re: Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

Postby eree » Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:41 pm

what is the vacuum compressors power consumption (Watts)? or the nominal current (Amps)?

if the current is less than 10A or motors power is less than 2300W, then you can cut only one of the red wires (any of them) and connect between the cut wires the connectors NC2 (means NormallyClosed) and COM (Common) of the vac switch. leave NO3(NormallyOpen) contact unused.
Attachments
vac pump.jpg

sijandy
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:36 pm
Kiting since: 2007
Style: freestyle
Gear: kites and boards
Brand Affiliation: None

Re: Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

Postby sijandy » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:15 am

what is the vacuum compressors power consumption (Watts)? or the nominal current (Amps)?


I don't know is the answer, nowhere on the pump/box or manual does it say about power consumption or nominal current - what is the relevance/consequence of this?

if the current is less than 10A or motors power is less than 2300W


If it is above these values is that when you need a relay to stop the switch burning out? Before i ordered the switched I asked the seller about a relay and he said that as long as the pump was 3/4 hp or less it should be okay without one.

ps - so how come it doesn't matter which red one to join the switch too? Is there no difference between them? Apologies for my ignorance but my knowledge on electronics is very limited.

cheers.

eree
Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:49 am
Kiting since: 0
Brand Affiliation: None
Location: shallow sea

Re: Anyone know how to wire a vacuum switch?

Postby eree » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:26 am

sijandy wrote:I don't know is the answer, nowhere on the pump/box or manual does it say about power consumption or nominal current - what is the relevance/consequence of this?

never mind, i can see now, this motor can not be so powerfull.
usually you can find motor properties on the label (on your first picture on side of the motor)
sijandy wrote:ps - so how come it doesn't matter which red one to join the switch too? Is there no difference between them? Apologies for my ignorance but my knowledge on electronics is very limited

right, no difference. vac.switch breaks the circuit no matter before or after the motor.


Return to “Board Builders”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests