All times are UTC + 1 hour

[ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Waroo 20 vs Flysurfer Silver Arrow 17
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:54 am 
Very Frequent Poster

Some readers have expressed interest in this comparison. I own both kites. I bought them with my own money and I am not sponsored by anyone. I weigh 180 LBS and I have been kiting for 6 years on the snow and water. I have owned a lot of big kites over the years (Naish 17.5, 21.5, 23.5 ARX, Wipika 16.4 Airblast, Flysurfer 16M MastAir, 17M Psycho, 18.5 Titan, 21.5 & 26M P2, Gaastra Phoenix 25M, Naish V4 30M). I am not biased towards LEI's or foils. I like kites that work well in a variety of conditions.

This is an initial review. I have flown the Waroo 20M 3 times and the Silver Arrow 6-7 times.

Today, I flew the kites back to back. The wind was light (12 - 14mph) with gusts of 15 - 18 mph. I rode on a 149 SS Glide.

These kites are very different, but they are both well-engineered and each has some interesting characteristics. The Silver Arrow is a special edition of the Flysurfer 17M Speed. The difference is the fabric that is used is much lighter in weight. A Speed 17M kite including the bar, lines and kite weighs 4.2 kg compared to 2.7 kg for the Silver Arrow.

Launching/Landing - the Silver Arrow has the advantage as all I had to do was weight down the trailing edge, unwind the lines, and straighten the bridles. From previous experience, I found that the kite requires no pre-inflation in wind over 10 mph. The Waroo was also pretty easy to setup and launch. Landing is another story, the Waroo was a piece of cake to land, while the Silver Arrow still generated a lot of power with the blue safety line pulled. Flysurfer needs to come up with a better system for this kite.