Post subject: Review Gin Nazca 12.0 2007
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:40 am 
Rare Poster

Review for Gin Nazca 2007 12.0

Times tested: No Comment
Range: 15kn to 25kn

Good:

Bad:

Review: I thought I would put a review on the Gin Nazca, as surely this kite must win an award for the most under-hyped kite on the market.

I have been riding for 4 years and over that period have owned GK, Cabrinha and North kites and demo’ed Rev, Nobile 555, Rebel, Vegas, and probably some others. Unfortunately I am an addicted consumer and love trying anything new. I buy my own kites so don’t have any allegiances.

Basics: 12 m kite, one-pump, 5th line safety, leading edge supported through 5th line (not sure what that makes the kite - hybrid??), carbon bar. Bar is small; I think it could be a bit longer as I like quick turns, but it seems OK. Simple safety, nothing mechanical to seize up; maybe a little easy to set off if you bump the cover, but I guess this is better than being hard to release! Bag is good quality with a second bag if you want to leave the struts up. Good pump, blah blah blah...

Build: This kite is up with the best for construction (probably only slightly behind Flexi IMO). Really nicely finished kite with lots of attention to detail, down to a small neoprene cover over the zip on the leading edge. Reinforced leading edge and good protection on scuff points. I tested the strength of the canopy by crashing into some trees and then hot launching through a bush. Not a scratch - couldn’t believe my luck. Probably not a recommended test technique…