*


All times are UTC + 1 hour



Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 4:26 pm 
Online
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 12:50 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
prayfawind27 wrote:
Kamikuza wrote:
tautologies wrote:
sorry I don;t mean to be facetious, but there is no real good way. Best would be to de-shake it in post processing. I have still not gotten any really good shots done. My go pro has been used about three times...so that might be the reason, in addition to me not being that great. I pulled out a few lame low res pics from it.

In any case, tho the only way I could see having it shake less would be to add weight, but that obviously have other problems. :-) .

No worries :D it's all fun'n'games!

Deshake for vDub works ok but is REALLY slow, so best to chop up what you want before you deshake it. As I said, vReveal is good but works by zooming in so you lose some of the shot.

To beat on the horse some more, I've used the GoPro line mount a bunch and it's watchable raw... but I'm just riding around, jumping and rotations and stuff, not doing hot tricks. The new mount should be much better!



thanks for the heads up that new line mount looks sweet I like how you will not have to edit the angle on, isn't out yet right? but I will get one for sure, I've used Aobe Warp stabilizer and I downloaded and used that Vreveal plus allowed youtube to do there thing and this is the end result didn't even bother turning the vid around



... hey prayfawind27, can you tell me what song you used in your video, name of artist and name of song/remix?

Thanks,

Robbie :)


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:29 pm 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 994
Location: Nassau,Bahamas
thom yorke - hearing damage. :thumb: I tried uploading the track but it's not allowed, if you want it, inbox your email I will send it


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:52 am 
Online
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 12:50 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
prayfawind27 wrote:
thom yorke - hearing damage. :thumb: I tried uploading the track but it's not allowed, if you want it, inbox your email I will send it


... hey prayfawind27,

that would be great, will PM you.

Thanks again, and cheers for now,

Robbie :D

edit: I searched my music library and found it,,, yay. Thanks again


Last edited by Puetz on Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:41 pm 
Offline
Frequent Poster

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:52 am
Posts: 217
Location: Australia
spleeft wrote:
filmed with a $100 Vado HD cam and some velcro for a strutt grip. Stabilizing done with After effects, and Final Cut.


The Vado HD is not water proof is it?
Big risk putting that in your kite


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:57 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 994
Location: Nassau,Bahamas
finally found out why it was shaking, it's the damn kites, i was riding a Kima 9m and a Renegade 11, i've just scored 2 Ben Wilson Noise kites and the shaking has been reduced 85 percent, wow!


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:40 am 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:08 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Venice, Florida
I just tried out the new Camrig GoPro line mount today with my Hero 2 on my 2011 Switchblade 16, and it's completely watchable with no editing at all. I really think it's because the camera's weight is balanced right between the lines, and not outside the axis (on top of the lines) like the old mounts. The field of view is always in frame, and doesn't vibrate or swing around wildly at all. I'll have to edit it into useful bits to post any vid results, but they are impressive.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:19 am 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:08 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Venice, Florida
Here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kRmkhuI ... e=youtu.be

This is completely unedited and not stabilized through YouTube. Forgive the wind howling through the lines. Odd that it should sound that way, as the wind was so light all I could do is lame little hops instead of the lunar jumps I wanted to do.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:34 am 
Offline
Very Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 994
Location: Nassau,Bahamas
How far up do you mount and what video setting ?

Flight Time wrote:
Here you go:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kRmkhuI ... e=youtu.be

This is completely unedited and not stabilized through YouTube. Forgive the wind howling through the lines. Odd that it should sound that way, as the wind was so light all I could do is lame little hops instead of the lunar jumps I wanted to do.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:22 am 
Offline
Frequent Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:08 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Venice, Florida
prayfawind27 wrote:
How far up do you mount and what video setting?


The highest video setting, 1080 30 fps. The swivel is about 6 or 7 feet from the bar on the 2011 Cab bar. I suppose you could mount anywhere, as long as the angle of the line roughly fits the angle on the rig (but the rig flexes quite a bit), and when you spin the bar the rear lines don't cross right where the camera is. The plugs let you lock in the lines, and prevent the rig from sliding down the lines. People have suggested only using 2 plugs, but I found after crashing the kite and slacking the lines, that the steering lines tend to gravitate toward the rig and hook into any of the 4 points that aren't plugged, so in the future, I will plug all points.

So far, I'm really happy with this setup. The real test to this rig will be taking it out in really heavy chop, so when the opportunity presents, I'll try to post some video.


Top
Profile
 Post subject: Re: How to Stop Go Pro Line mount shaking
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:46 pm 
Offline
Medium Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:35 pm
Posts: 175
Location: seattle, wa
hey flight time, well done sir.
the new line mount has addressed those shaking issues and your video demonstrates it.
can't wait to see more footage from you and other users of the line mount.


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic
 [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Puetz, Slappysan and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group