Style: Free ride
Gear: Slingshot rally 9,12 turbo 17
Placebo 140x43
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Anyone use waterskis?

Postby Onthewater860 » Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:11 pm

I'm interested in anyone using waterskis. I'm a professional ski patroller and spend over 80 days of a year on skis. Switching to riding a board is good but I know I'd be more comfortable on skis. I see hard boot waterski set up and wonder if they would give you the control needed.
Idea 2 is use some old bindings on waterskis and a set of boots.

Thoughts, ideas, stories....

edt
Very Frequent Poster
Kiting since: 2010
Local Beach: Michigan
Gear: ride hard, no regrets

Re: Anyone use waterskis?

Postby edt » Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:19 pm

during the very beginning of the sport water skiis were used this is around 1994. What happened is everyone went straight downwind. Then I guess in the usa cory roeseler in the usa and of course the legaignoux brothers in france, anyway one or both of them and others decided what if we mount the board wakestyle and put our feet with the heels on the heelside edge instead of facing front like water skiis. That is the birth of the sport and the first time that kiteboarders were able to go upwind instead of doing downwind runs and walking back up the beach. this is why nobody uses water skiis. yes it's possible go ahead and do it but nobody else bothers because it is so much more difficult to go upwind. I think straps is fine whatever you want to use the problem is the body position.

go out there and try it, shoot some viddies too thanks, it will be cool to see someone going all retro with skiis.

matth
Very Frequent Poster
Local Beach: Revere, Nahant, Chapin, West Dennis, Hardings , Kalmus, First Encounter, Dog, yerril, Wing
Favorite Beaches: Wing, West Dennis, Kalmus, Chapin, Revere, Nahant, Dog, Horse Neck, Good Harbor, Yerrill
Style: Freeride
Gear: 7m Slash, 10m Pivot, 10m Slash, 12m Pivot. Firewire Vadar, Duotone Profish, Crazyfly Raptor ltd