Contact   Imprint   Advertising   Guidelines

How can I repair a waveboard that was run-over by a car?

Here you can exchange your experience and datas about your home build boards
kite_hh
Frequent Poster
Gear: Cabrinha, North, own
Brand Affiliation: None

How can I repair a waveboard that was run-over by a car?

Postby kite_hh » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:00 pm

My Kiteboard, a 2017 Slingshot Tyrant was run over by a car. :(

This has led to some serious damages that I would like to fix. I have some experience with epoxy and polyester work, but the "rugged EPS core, reinforced glass, carbon integration, high-end bamboo laminate finish" on the Tyrant is new terrain for me.

Damage report is as follows:
All fins have broken off flush with the deck in the fin boxes. I managed to get them out (with a screw) and learnt, that the fin boxes are fine. Phew!

However, the tail has been crushed. So it desperately needs fixing. I attached some pictures.

Also there is a 20cm crack on the rail on that probably resulted from the car rolling off the board.

Everything else seems fine.

My biggest question is how should I go about fixing the tail.

A) Do I rip out huge chunks and try to remodel it?
B) Do I try to leave as much of the old stuff in place as possible and fill the gaps with epoxy?
C) Something else. Will the sandwich construction complicate matters?

Any advice will help. Thanks!

PS: I am very willing to provide more pictures if that helps.
Attachments
374731-01.jpeg
Tail 1
374731-01.jpeg (17.12 KiB) Viewed 3148 times
DSC_7419-01.jpeg
Tail 2
36715-01.jpeg
Tail 3
_20181104_164610.JPG
Tyrant 2017

norcom
Very Frequent Poster
Style: waves
Gear: Too much to list these days. Currently mostly a v3 Cabo's and Spleene Zone fan

Re: How can I repair a waveboard that was run-over by a car?

Postby norcom » Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:52 pm

Check this resource for good ideas:
https://boardlady.com/repairmenu.htm

longwhitecloud
Very Frequent Poster
Style: Master Baiter. Oracle of windsport.