Medium Poster
Local Beach: Fay Bainbridge
Favorite Beaches: Squamish, Crissy, Waddell
Style: All types!
Gear: Ozone kites, Project Cedrus foil
Brand Affiliation: Owner of Adherend Innovations / Project Cedrus

Lightweight carbon mast for any wings

Postby BayAreaKite » Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:42 am

Hello everyone, I wanted to share a project I've been working on for a few years now. It's a carbon foil mast that's designed to be compatible with any board or wings. As of now it is compatible with Liquid Force, Slingshot, and Moses. I am working on other adapters as well. The 90cm mast weighs 1.5kg, while the 65cm version is <1kg. Don't let the weight scare you, it is stiffer and stronger than any other mast.

https://projectcedrus.com

One of my biggest frustrations with foils is the weight. Even the carbon foils are heavy because they are SOLID CARBON FIBER. It's crazy! A complete waste of material, which makes manufacturing, shipping, and traveling more expensive. This mast is hollow, so it uses less material and has soft leading/trailing edges for damage tolerance and safety. Another frustration is the fact that when you buy a foil, you are locked into a brands boards and wings. It makes no sense, like forcing you to buy the same ski boots as skis, or bike frames as wheels. Project Cedrus allows you to invest in a nice mast that you use for a long time, and will allow you to explore other wings, boards, and styles.

I hope you enjoy the website and thank you for letting me share. I am a mechanical engineer, and my marketing budget is exactly $0, so I rely on these forums to share. I own a forum as well (https://www.bayareakiteboarding.com) and I know how valuable these resources are. I review this forum often. I am posting as a kiter, a forum moderator, and friend :D Just want to share some new technology with the foil world.

Thank you!

BWD
Very Frequent Poster

Re: Lightweight carbon mast for any wings

Postby BWD » Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:52 am