Kiting since: 2003
Weight: 162
Local Beach: Crack Park
Style: Foil
Gear: 633 Onda Peak4 8,5,4,3m
Brand Affiliation: None

A15 15m first impressions

Postby kriskris » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:40 pm

Just got my 15 m UL and I was able to finally test it in light enough wind.
I have some experience flying FS 21 few years ago and I can only compare these two kites. A15 in comparison seemed slowish but very powerful. It has enormous amount of grunt once it gets going!
It is surprisingly extremely stable! Never hindenburged on me. Just lurched slowly forward at zenith and swung back slowly. I did not even have to fly it left and right above my had to prevent it from dropping. It just sits above your had.
I launched kite fully inflated with leaf blower and the next day I launched with no intentional preinflation. Both times suicide-completely downwind in tight quarters. Kite was very stable and never flapped the tips (unlike my FS 21) and was fully inflated by the time it reached zenith! It also launched directly up without typical edge of the window dance with mu FS.
No problem with relaunch either. Kite folded on itself as it dropped and It actually relaunched twice without any of my input when I was positioning my foil board not even holding the bar.
I was flying kite alongside my friend on Kitech 15. He has had this for 2 years and knows how to fly it with his foilboard. I think he dropped his kite twice as much because of lulls. In the end we both dragged our kites on water as wind dropped to zero. A15 takes quite a long time to soak significant amount of water. Way longer than kitech.