Style: All of it.
Gear: Waiman 7, 9, 12 and Epic Screamer 14

Epic Spartan 129, F-One Trax 134, Waiman Blunt 137 W
Brand Affiliation: None
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Snow/Water Foil Question...

Postby Loon » Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:22 am

I've been kiteboarding for over 6 years now, almost always on water... some landboarding and snowkiting in the winter.

I'm interested in taking more advantage of the winter snow kite season but am finding that pumping up a kite in below freezing conditions sucks!

So my question is.. Do I go for a dedicated snow kite like the Ozone Frenzy or something that could be used on both water & land like the Crono? I've never flown a foil so does it really mske the kite experience that much better?

I live in Michigan where "gusty" is a way of life.

Hardwater Kiter
Frequent Poster
Style: Rough and tumble
Gear: Ram air and single skin Foil kites. Long skis to truck, short skis to huck.
Brand Affiliation: www.hardwaterkiter.com Authorized retailers of Flysurfer. Ozone, HQ kites and Gin kites.

Re: Snow/Water Foil Question...

Postby Hardwater Kiter » Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:50 am

Where we are its rare to see an LEI in the winter for exactly the reason you cited as well as some others. For ease of use a nice open cell foil like the Ozone Frenzy, Summit or HQ Montana 8 are hard to beat as well as the Flysurfer Peak. Set up and pack down of these kites is fast and easy once you get used to it.